Skip to main content

UN „Champion of the Earth” Auszeichnung 2020 geht an einen Zoonosenforscher

The United Nations Environment Programme's "Champions of the Earth" award is the UN's highest environmental honor. Since 2005, it has been awarded to people who inspire, lead the way and contribute to the protection of our planet and its resources. In 2020, the prize will be awarded in the category "Science and Innovation" to Dr. Fabian Leendertz, member of the Internal Advisory Board of the Zoonoses Platform and working group leader at the Robert Koch Institute.

Each year, the United Nations (UN) Environment Program selects the "Champions of the Earth". Individuals, groups and institutions are honored for their contribution to the protection of our environment and our natural resources. Due to the close interconnection of human, animal and environmental health in the sense of the One Health concept, zoonoses research also plays an important role in this area.

The award is granted in four different categories:

  • Political Leadership - Individuals or organizations in the public sector who are taking global or national action to protect our planet's environment.
  • Inspiration and Action - Individuals or organizations taking bold steps and leading by positive example to inspire positive change to protect our world.
  • Entrepreneurial Vision - Individuals or organizations that challenge the status quo to build a cleaner future. They build systems, create new technologies and are at the forefront of a breakthrough vision.
  • Science and Innovation - Individuals or organizations that push the boundaries of technology to achieve profound environmental benefits. They invent opportunities for a more sustainable world.

Since 2005, "Champions of the Earth" has honored 93 persons. Now, Dr. Fabian Leendertz, a researcher from the Zoonoses Platform, is receiving the award in the Science and Innovation category. The head of the "Epidemiology of Highly Pathogenic Pathogens" working group at the RKI focuses his research on the interfaces between humans and wildlife, the evolution of infectious pathogens and the ecology of wildlife diseases. (The Leendertz Lab)

F_Leendertz_UNE_2020

Image: Dr. Fabian Leendertz, winner of the UN's "Champions of the Earth" award in the category Science and Innovation (Photo: UNE)

We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Dr. Fabian Leendertz most sincerely on this award and are proud to have a scientist in our ranks who brings the One Health concept to life with his research work and thus also contributes to the understanding and preservation of a healthy environment.

Here you can find a portrait of the award winner Dr. Fabian Leendertz.

Here you can find an overview of all winners of the "Champions of the Earth" Award 2020

Dr. Fabian Leendertz 2020 Champion of the Earth - Science and Innovation

Artikel zu #

Passende Termine

Direkt zum Inhalt
  • 0
  • 1

UN „Champion of the Earth” Auszeichnung 2020 geht an einen Zoonosenforscher

Der Preis "Champions of the Earth" des United Nations-Umweltprogramms ist die höchste Umweltauszeichnung der UNO. Seit 2005 werden hier Menschen ausgezeichnet, die inspirieren, vorangehen und einen Beitrag zum Schutz unserer Erde und deren Ressourcen leisten. Der Preis wird 2020 in der Kategorie „Wissenschaft und Innovation“ an Dr. Fabian Leendertz verliehen, Mitglied des Internen Beirats der Zoonosenplattform und Arbeitsgruppenleiter am Robert Koch-Institut.

Das Umweltprogramm der United Nations (UN) kürt jährlich die "Champions of the Earth". Hierbei werden Einzelpersonen, Gruppen und Institutionen ausgezeichnet, die mit ihrer Arbeit einen Beitrag zum Schutz unserer Umwelt und unserer natürlichen Ressourcen geleistet haben. Durch die enge Verzahnung der Gesundheit von Mensch, Tier und Umwelt im Sinne des One Health-Gedankens spielt auch die Zoonosenforschung in diesen Bereich eine wichtige Rolle.

Der Preis wird in vier verschiedenen Kategorien vergeben:

  • Politische Führung – Einzelpersonen oder Organisationen im öffentlichen Sektor, die sich durch globale oder nationale Aktionen für die Umwelt unseres Planeten einsetzen.
  • Inspiration und Aktion – Einzelpersonen oder Organisationen, die mutige Schritte unternehmen und mit positivem Beispiel voran gehen, um positive Veränderungen zum Schutz unserer Welt anzuregen.
  • Unternehmerische Vision - Einzelpersonen oder Organisationen, die den Status quo in Frage stellen, um eine sauberere Zukunft aufzubauen. Sie bauen Systeme auf, schaffen neue Technologien und stehen an der Spitze einer bahnbrechenden Vision.
  • Wissenschaft und Innovation - Einzelpersonen oder Organisationen, die die Grenzen der Technologie überschreiten, um einen tiefgreifenden Nutzen für die Umwelt zu erzielen. Sie erfinden Möglichkeiten für eine nachhaltigere Welt.

Seit 2005 hat „Champions of the Earth“ 93 Preisträger*innen ausgezeichnet. Nun erhält mit Dr. Fabian Leendertz ein Forscher der Zoonosenplattform die Auszeichnung in der Kategorie „Wissenschaft und Innovation“. Der Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe „Epidemiologie hochpathogener Erreger“ am RKI beschäftigt sich in seiner Forschung mit den Schnittstellen zwischen Menschen und Wildtieren, der Evolution von Infektionserregern und der Ökologie von Wildtierkrankheiten. (The Leendertz Lab)

F_Leendertz_UNE_2020

Bild: Dr. Fabian Leendertz, Preisträger des „Champions of the Earth“-Auszeichnung der UN in der Kategorie Wissenschaft und Innovation (Foto: UNE)

Wir gratulieren Dr. Fabian Leendertz an dieser Stelle ganz herzlich zu dieser Auszeichnung und sind stolz einen Wissenschaftler in unseren Reihen zu wissen, der mit seiner Forschungsarbeit den One Health-Gedanken mit Leben füllt und damit auch einen Beitrag zum Verständnis und zum Erhalt einer gesunden Umwelt beisteuert.

Hier finden Sie ein Portrait des Preisträgers Dr. Fabian Leendertz

Hier finden Sie alle Preisträger des „Champions of the Earth“ Preises 2020 im Überblick

Dr. Fabian Leendertz 2020 Champion of the Earth - Science and Innovation

Artikel zu #

Passende Termine

Autumn School 2021

Autumn School 2021 - banner
Datum: 21.-22.09.2021 Ort: Online Die Coronavirus-Pandemie hat gezeigt, wie wertvoll eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in der Bewältigung von gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen sein kann. Dies...